

THE

JAMMU & KASHMIR GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

Vol. 129] Jammu, Mon., the 20th March, 2017/29th Phal., 1938. [No. 50-aa

Separate paging is given to this part in order that it may be filed as a separate compilation.

PART I-B

Jammu and Kashmir Government—Notifications.

GOVERNMENT OF JAMMU AND KASHMIR ELECTION DEPARTMENT

Notification

Jammu, the 20th March, 2017.

SRO-127.—WHEREAS, the seats of six (06) Members of the Legislative Council of the State of Jammu and Kashmir elected by the Members of Legislative Assembly of the State are due to fall vacant on the retirement of the six Members on expiration of their term of office, as under :—

S. No.	Constituency	Name of Member	Date of vacancy
1	2	3	4
1.	Poonch District of Jammu Province	Jahangir Hussain Mir	19-04-2017

2 The J&K Govt. Gazette, 20th March, 2017/29th Phal., 1938. [No. 50-aa

1	2	3	4
2.	Jammu Province	Master Noor Hussain	19-04-2017
3.	Jammu Province	Jugal Kishore Sharma	19-04-2017
4.	Kashmir Province	Dr. S. Bashir Ahmad Shah (Veeri)	19-04-2017
5.	Kashmir Province	Mr. Yasir Reshi	19-04-2017
6.	Kashmir Province	S. Dharambir Singh	01-01-2017

AND WHEREAS, biennial election has to be held for the purpose of filling the above vacancies ; so arising.

NOW, THEREFORE, as recommended by the Election Commission of India, in pursuance of Section 29 of the Jammu and Kashmir Representation of the People Act, 1957 (IV of 1957), the Governor hereby, is pleased to call upon the Members of Legislative Assembly of the State, to elect to the said Council, before 19th April, 2017, six Members, in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, in the following manner :—

> (a) Three (3) Members from amongst persons who are residents of the Province of Jammu and are not Members of Legislative Assembly :

Provided that of the Members so elected, at least one shall be resident of District Poonch.

(b) Three (3) Members from amongst persons who are residents of the Province of Kashmir and are not Members of Legislative Assembly.

By order of the Government of Jammu and Kashmir.

(Sd.)

Principal Secretary to Government, Election Department.